jump to navigation

Flipping Houses – No Easy Task February 13, 2010

Posted by admin1 in Real Estate.
Tags: ,
trackback

With Spring right around the corner, I started looking into one of my favorite dreams – flipping houses.  I always assume the best time to get into the business is when the weather breaks. I think to myself how great it would be to work on houses all summer.  So, naturally, every year around spring time I start reading up on housing and real estate.  I came across an article on MSN that pretty much took the wind right out of my sails.

The article more or less painted a pretty scary picture of house flipping.  Between all of the legal jargon and the failure statistics they talked about, it almost made flipping houses more of a nightmare than a dream.  However, after thinking about the article some more, I determined that every job has it’s bad aspects and there are bound to be risks involved with opportunity taken.  What distinguishes my attitude towards flipping houses from everyone else is the fact that I absolutely love home renovations and all of the work that in entailed.  I have a drive to complete every project I work on 100% no matter how much work is involved.  I’m constantly looking to help friends and family members out with their home renovation projects.  I just can’t see why I wouldn’t want to do it for myself some time.  Granted, the point they made about not being able to buy houses with no money down was valid.  You do see a lot of shows on TV and infomercials that make flipping houses sound like a breeze.  I know better than that though.  I have to believe that some people get into the business just to make money but really have no desire to do any work.  I think that despite the article basically making it sound like you need to be a professional to flip houses, I would still pursue a future opportunity to flip a house based on my desire to work on houses, the attention I pay to detail, my dedicated work ethic and my passion for being financially independent. Maybe someday in the future I’ll have an update for you that will include my first flip.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment